Central Language Services, Terminology Section

The Terminology Section in the Federal Chancellery’s Central Language Services provides relevant and up-to-date terminology in the four national languages and in English for the whole of the Federal Administration. It translates laws and other texts into Romansh and English, and so enables the government and Federal Administration to communicate and provide information in these languages as well.

Terminology

The Terminology Section supports the federal offices and other federal agencies with terminology work, i.e. in recording, publishing and distributing their specialist vocabulary. Assuring the quality of terminology used in a text, be it originally written or a translation, greatly influences its clarity and readability. The Terminology Section operates in all four national languages plus English, and ensures that the terminology it processes is made publicly available via TERMDAT, the Confederation’s terminology database. The work of the Terminology Section helps to ensure the quality of multilingual communication and information distribution in the Federal Administration.

Romansh translation

The Romansh coordination office in the Terminology Section coordinates all matters relating to the use of Romansh in the Federal Administration. Texts are translated in-house or sent out to the Graubünden Cantonal Chancellery in Chur. Besides translating and updating legislative texts, the service is also responsible for the Romansh (Rumantsch Grischun) version of other important texts such as the Federal Council’s explanatory statements on popular votes (including videos). Other publications, webpages etc. are translated as required. The Terminology Section thus plays an important role in providing official communications in all four national languages.

English translation

The English Language Service in the Terminology Section translates texts into English for the Federal Chancellery, the President of the Confederation, for many of the federal offices and agencies and for the Parliamentary Services. The English Language Service is also responsible for the English translation of legislative texts and for keeping existing English language versions of laws up to date. It plays an important role in ensuring the quality of communication in English by the government and Federal Administration.

Coordination and cooperation

The Terminology Section coordinates its work with the multilingual cantons and participates in international bodies such as the Rat für deutsche Terminologie and Conference of Translation Services of European States (COTSOES).

Linguistic advice

In addition to the TERMDAT terminology database, the Terminology Section also compiles guidelines and other aids to drawing up and translating texts. These publications ensure greater coherence among texts published in several languages. The section also provides advice to federal employees and members of the public on language and terminology issues.

Continuing education and training

Each year, the Terminology Section runs courses in several languages on the methodology of terminology work and on using TERMDAT. The English Language Service coordinates the Federal Administration’s network of English translators and regularly organises continuing education and training events.

Further Information

Contact

Central Language Services Terminology Section
Gurtengasse 3
3003 Bern
Tel:
+41 58 464 11 47

E-Mail

info@bk.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.bk.admin.ch/content/bk/en/home/bk/organisation-der-bundeskanzlei/zentrale-sprachdienste-sektion-terminologie.html

Zentrale Sprachdienste, Sektion Terminologie

Die Sektion Terminologie der zentralen Sprachdienste der Bundeskanzlei stellt die für die gesamte Bundesverwaltung relevante und aktuelle Terminologie in den vier Landessprachen sowie Englisch bereit. Sie übersetzt zudem Erlasse und andere Texte ins Rätoromanische und Englische. Damit ermöglicht sie dem Bundesrat und der Bundesverwaltung, auch in diesen Sprachen kompetent zu kommunizieren und zu informieren.

Terminologie

Die Sektion Terminologie unterstützt Ämter und andere Fachstellen in ihrer terminologischen Arbeit, d. h. im Erfassen, Aufbereiten und Verbreiten ihres Fachwortschatzes. Diese terminologische Qualitätssicherung beeinflusst zu einem wesentlichen Teil die Klarheit und Verständlichkeit der verfassten oder übersetzten Texte. Deshalb arbeitet die Sektion Terminologie in allen vier Landessprachen sowie Englisch und stellt sicher, dass die so erfasste Terminologie in TERMDAT, der Terminologiedatenbank des Bundes, öffentlich verfügbar ist. Die Sektion ermöglicht dadurch eine mehrsprachige Kommunikation und Informationsvermittlung von hoher Qualität.

Übersetzung Rätoromanisch

Die Koordinationsstelle für Rätoromanisch, die Teil der Sektion Terminologie ist, bündelt die rätoromanischen Sprachanliegen der ganzen Bundesverwaltung und setzt diese in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Standeskanzlei des Kantons Graubünden in Chur um. Neben der Übersetzung von Erlassen sowie deren Aktualisierung werden auch wiederkehrende und wichtige Texte, wie z. B. die Erläuterungen des Bundesrates zu den Abstimmungsvorlagen (inklusive Abstimmungsvideos), in Rumantsch Grischun zur Verfügung gestellt. Weitere Publikationen, Internetseiten u. v. a. m. werden nach Bedarf übersetzt. Die Sektion Terminologie trägt so zu einer mehrsprachigen Behördenkommunikation in allen vier Landessprachen bei.

Übersetzung Englisch

Der Englische Sprachdienst, der ebenfalls zur Sektion Terminologie gehört, übersetzt Texte der Bundeskanzlei, der Bundespräsidentin oder des Bundespräsidenten, der Parlamentsdienste sowie zahlreicher weiterer Bundesstellen ins Englische. Er ist zudem für die englischen Übersetzungen der Rechtstexte sowie für deren Aktualisierung zuständig. Somit trägt er dazu bei, dass der Bundesrat und die Bundesverwaltung auch auf Englisch in hoher Qualität kommunizieren und informieren können.

Koordination und Zusammenarbeit

Die Sektion Terminologie koordiniert ihre Tätigkeiten mit den mehrsprachigen Kantonen und arbeitet in internationalen Gremien mit, wie zum Beispiel im Rat für Deutschsprachige Terminologie (RaDT) oder in der Konferenz der Übersetzungsdienste europäischer Staaten (KÜDES).

Sprachberatung

Die Sektion Terminologie stellt neben der Terminologiedatenbank TERMDAT auch Leitfäden und andere Hilfsmittel bereit, die das Verfassen und Übersetzen von Texten erleichtern und deren Kohärenz in den verschiedenen Sprachversionen gewährleisten. Zudem berät die Sektion Bundesangestellte sowie Bürgerinnen und Bürger in Terminologie- und Sprachfragen.

Ausbildung

Die Sektion Terminologie bietet jährlich mehrere Kurse zu den „Methoden der Terminologiearbeit“ sowie zur TERMDAT-Abfrage und -Erfassung in den Sprachen Deutsch, Französisch und Italienisch an. Der Englische Sprachdienst koordiniert das Netzwerk der Englisch-Übersetzerinnen und -Übersetzer der Bundesverwaltung und führt regelmässig Weiterbildungsveranstaltungen durch.

Weiterführende Informationen

Kontakt

Zentrale Sprachdienste Sektion Terminologie
Gurtengasse 3
3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 464 11 47

E-Mail

info@bk.admin.ch

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bk.admin.ch/content/bk/de/home/bk/organisation-der-bundeskanzlei/zentrale-sprachdienste-sektion-terminologie.html