Delegate for Digital Transformation and ICT Steering

Daniel Markwalder has headed the Federal Chancellery’s Digital Transformation and ICT Steering Sector since 1 January 2021. The Federal Council appointed him to this newly created position at the end of June 2020.

Daniel Markwalder studied law at the University of Bern, graduating in 2001. He then completed basic studies in IT engineering at the ETH Zurich. Between 2004 and 2008 he completed a doctorate on IT law at the law faculty at the University of Zurich. After holding a number of teaching positions while studying and working in the private sector, Daniel Markwalder entered the Federal Administration in 2008. As head of digital certificates (PKI) and security products at the Federal Office for Information Technology, Systems and Telecommunications (FOITT), he was responsible for the cryptographic aspects of the strategic Swiss passport project.

At the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research EAER, Daniel Markwalder was initially head of IT, before being appointed Deputy Secretary General from 2016 to the end of 2020, responsible for the Resources Division. The Delegate for Digital Transformation and ICT Steering reports directly to the Federal Chancellor.

Daniel Markwalder, Delegate for Digital Transformation and ICT Steering
https://www.bk.admin.ch/content/bk/en/home/digitale-transformation-ikt-lenkung/bereichdti/delegierterdti.html

Delegierter des Bundesrates

Seit dem 1. Januar 2021 leitet Daniel Markwalder den Bereich «Digitale Transformation und IKT-Lenkung» (DTI) der Bundeskanzlei. Der Bundesrat berief ihn Ende Juni 2020 auf diese neu geschaffene Position.

Daniel Markwalder hat an der Universität Bern Rechtswissenschaften studiert und 2001 abgeschlossen. Anschliessend absolvierte er an der ETH Zürich das Grundstudium Informatikingenieur. Von 2004-2008 dissertierte er an der rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Zürich im Bereich Informatikrecht. Nach verschiedenen Stationen in der Privatwirtschaft und bei Lehrinstitutionen während der Ausbildung, trat Herr Markwalder 2008 in die Bundesverwaltung ein. Als Bereichsleiter für digitale Zertifikate (PKI) und Sicherheitsprodukte verantwortete er beim Bundesamt für Informatik und Telekommunikation (BIT) die kryptografischen Aspekte im strategischen Projekt «Schweizerpass».

Beim Eidgenössischen Departement für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung (WBF) war Daniel Markwalder Leiter Informatik und von Anfang 2016 bis Ende 2020 als stellvertretender Generalsekretär und den Bereich Ressourcen verantwortlich. Der Delegierte für digitale Transformation und IKT-Lenkung untersteht dem Weisungsrecht des Bundeskanzlers.

https://www.bk.admin.ch/content/bk/de/home/digitale-transformation-ikt-lenkung/bereichdti/delegierterdti.html