Personnel Security Screening unit

Persons applying for senior management positions in the Federal Administration are required to undergo security screening. The Personnel Security Screening unit at the Federal Chancellery is exclusively responsible for conducting these checks, which include interviewing candidates (highest security level) – primarily those selected by the Federal Council.

The aim of personnel security screening is to ensure that the persons concerned do not pose any security risk. There should be no doubt whatsoever about their integrity or trustworthiness. There should be nothing in the person’s life that could expose them to blackmail or bribery, and their conduct should not in any way compromise their own or their employer’s reputation. 

Interviews conducted by the Federal Chancellery’s Personnel Security Screening unit are a major component of this screening process. These allow a “rounded picture” of the candidate to be formed. This includes discussing their private affairs. 

Candidates are asked about their lives and careers, insofar as this is relevant to security aspects. This involves assessing their reputation.

Last modification 29.11.2017

Top of page

https://www.bk.admin.ch/content/bk/en/home/bk/organisation-der-bundeskanzlei/fachstelle-personensicherheitspruefungen-bk.html

Fachstelle Personensicherheitsprüfungen

Die Top-Kader der Bundesverwaltung werden einer Personensicherheitsprüfung unterzogen. Die Fachstelle Personensicherheitsprüfung Bundeskanzlei ist ausschliesslich für die erweiterten Sicherheitsprüfungen mit Befragung (höchste Sicherheitsstufe) zuständig und zwar primär für die vom Bundesrat gewählten Funktionsträger.

Ziel der Personensicherheitsprüfung ist sicherzustellen, dass die überprüfte Person kein Sicherheitsrisiko darstellt. Es sollen keine Zweifel an ihrer Integrität und Vertrauenswürdigkeit bestehen. Die Person darf aufgrund ihrer Lebensumstände weder erpressbar noch bestechlich sein und durch ihr Verhalten auch kein Reputationsrisiko mit sich bringen.

Im Zentrum der Personensicherheitsprüfung steht die Befragung der Person durch die Fachstelle für Personensicherheitsprüfungen der Bundeskanzlei. Bei diesem Gespräch geht es darum, sich ein „abgerundetes Bild“ von der Person zu machen. Hierzu werden auch private Bereiche angesprochen.

In der Befragung wird der Lebenslauf der Person nachgezeichnet und erhoben, soweit dieser unter Sicherheitsaspekten relevant ist. Dazu gehört die Abklärung der Reputation.

https://www.bk.admin.ch/content/bk/de/home/bk/organisation-der-bundeskanzlei/fachstelle-personensicherheitspruefungen-bk.html