Release of source code leads to discovery of flaw in Swiss Post’s new e-voting system

Bern, 12.03.2019 - Researchers have uncovered a significant flaw in the new e-voting system of Swiss Post. The flaw concerns the system offering universal verifiability, which is currently undergoing a public intrusion test. It does not affect the system already being used in four cantons. The flaw does not allow the system to be intruded. The Federal Chancellery has urged Swiss Post to take appropriate measures to prevent such flaws.

In the course of the public intrusion test in conjecture with the publication of the system’s source code, testers uncovered on March 12th, 2019 what the Federal Chancellery considers to be a significant flaw in the new e-voting system of Swiss Post. They came across the flaw by studying the system’s source code and the accompanying documentation, and subsequently notified the Federal Chancellery and Swiss Post. The public intrusion test, which involves the release of the source code, is intended to reveal possible vulnerabilities so that they can remedied.

The flaw identified concerns the implementation of universal verifiability. Verifiability is a way of determining by means of mathematical proofs whether votes have been manipulated. While the flaw does not allow the system to be penetrated, the researchers were able to demonstrate that the system does not generate conclusive mathematical proofs to identify whether any manipulation has taken place. This means that it is not possible to detect whether the votes have been tampered with. The existence of this flaw means that the system does not comply with the legal requirements set out in the Federal Chancellery Ordinance on Electronic Voting (OEV).

Federal Chancellery to review certification procedure

The Federal Chancellery has called on Swiss Post to review and improve its security processes to prevent such flaws. Swiss Post should also review and adapt the conditions for accessing the source code. The Federal Chancellery for its part will review the relevant certification and authorization procedures.

Existing system not affected

The flaw that has come to light concerns Swiss Post’s newly developed e-voting system. The existing system, for which the cantons already have an initial licence issued by the Federal Council, does not offer universal verifiability and is therefore not affected by this flaw. Ten cantons currently offer a certain proportion of the electorate in their cantons the possibility of voting electronically; four operate Swiss Post’s current system.

The Federal Council and the Federal Chancellery decide whether to issue an initial licence and authorisation to use e-voting systems when a canton submits a corresponding application. They only authorise the use of systems which fulfil the requirements stipulated under federal law.

Intrusion test to continue

On 5 April 2017 the Federal Council decided that providers of universally verifiable systems would have to publish the source code. In the same year, the Confederation and the cantons also agreed that a public intrusion test would be conducted as a pilot trial. These measures are intended to generate transparency and harness the expertise of external IT specialists.

The public intrusion test on Swiss Post’s system runs until 24 March, which provides time to see whether any further flaws come to light. The Confederation and the cantons will evaluate the results of the test and then publish a report. The Federal Chancellery will assess whether further corrections to the new system are needed, and whether there is a need to adapt the existing e-voting system.


Address for enquiries

René Lenzin
Dep. Head, FCh Communication Service
+41 58 462 54 93
rene.lenzin@bk.admin.ch



Publisher

Federal Chancellery
http://www.bk.admin.ch/index.html?lang=en

Last modification 31.10.2017

Top of page

https://www.bk.admin.ch/content/bk/en/home/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-74307.html

Offenlegung des Quellcodes führt zur Entdeckung eines Mangels im neuen E-Voting-System der Post

Bern, 12.03.2019 - Forscher haben einen erheblichen Mangel am neu entwickelten E-Voting-System der Schweizerischen Post entdeckt. Der Mangel betrifft das System mit universeller Verifizierbarkeit, das derzeit einem öffentlichen Intrusionstest unterzogen wird. Vom Fehler nicht betroffen ist das System der Schweizerischen Post, das in vier Kantonen bereits im Einsatz steht. Der Mangel erlaubt nicht, ins System einzudringen. Die Bundeskanzlei hat die Schweizerische Post aufgefordert, Massnahmen zur Verhinderung von solchen Mängeln zu ergreifen.

Im Rahmen des öffentlichen Intrusionstests und der Offenlegung des Quellcodes haben Forscher am 12. März 2019 einen aus Sicht der Bundeskanzlei erheblichen Mangel am neu entwickelten E-Voting System der Schweizerischen Post offengelegt. Sie haben den Mangel anhand der Dokumentation sowie des Quellcodes des Systems entdeckt und die Bundeskanzlei sowie die Post informiert. Ziel des Intrusionstests und der Offenlegung des Quellcodes ist es, mögliche Schwachstellen aufzudecken und beheben zu können.

Der Mangel betrifft die Umsetzung der universellen Verifizierbarkeit. Diese erlaubt es, anhand von mathematischen Beweisen Manipulationen der Stimmen festzustellen. Zwar erlaubt der Mangel nicht, ins System einzudringen. Die Forscher konnten aber aufzeigen, dass das System keine aussagekräftigen mathematischen Beweise zur Überprüfung von allfälligen Manipulationen erzeugt. Das bedeutet, dass sich allfällige Manipulationen mit dem System der Post nicht feststellen lassen. Damit ist die Verordnung der Bundeskanzlei über die elektronische Stimmabgabe (VEleS) nicht eingehalten. Mit diesem Mangel erfüllt das System der Post somit die gesetzlichen Anforderungen nicht.

Bundeskanzlei überprüft Zertifizierungsprozess

Die Bundeskanzlei hat die Post aufgefordert, ihre Sicherheitsprozesse zu überprüfen und anzupassen, damit solche Mängel verhindert werden können. Die Post soll auch die Rahmenbedingungen zur Veröffentlichung des Quellcodes überprüfen und anpassen. Die Bundeskanzlei wird zudem die Zertifizierungs- und Zulassungsprozesse überprüfen.

Bestehendes System nicht betroffen

Der festgestellte Mangel betrifft das neu entwickelte E-Voting-System der Post. Das bestehende System, für dessen Einsatz die Kantone bereits über eine Grundbewilligung des Bundesrates verfügen, ist nicht universell verifizierbar. Es ist von diesem Mangel nicht betroffen. Derzeit bieten zehn Kantone einem Teil ihrer Stimmberechtigten die elektronische Stimmabgabe an, vier davon mit dem System der Post.

Der Bundesrat und die Bundeskanzlei entscheiden über die Erteilung einer Grundbewilligung respektive einer Zulassung von E-Voting-Systemen, sobald ein Kanton ein entsprechendes Gesuch einreicht. Sie lassen nur Systeme zu, welche die bundesrechtlichen Sicherheitsanforderungen erfüllen. 

Intrusionstest läuft weiter

Der Bundesrat hat am 5. April 2017 beschlossen, dass die Anbieter von vollständig verifizierbaren System den Quellcode offenlegen müssen. Als zusätzliche Massnahme haben sich Bund und Kantone 2017 über die Durchführung des öffentlichen Intrusionstests als Pilotversuch verständigt. Diese Massnahmen haben zum Ziel, Transparenz zu schaffen und Fachwissen von externen Expertinnen und Experten nutzen zu können.

Der öffentliche Intrusionstest am System der Post dauert noch bis am 24. März 2019. Bis dann wird sich zeigen, ob weitere Mängel zum Vorschein kommen. Bund und Kantone werden die Ergebnisse des Tests auswerten und einen Bericht veröffentlichen. Die Bundeskanzlei wird prüfen, ob weitere Korrekturen am neuen System notwendig sind und ob Anpassungsbedarf am bestehenden System besteht.


Adresse für Rückfragen

René Lenzin
Redaktionsleiter Tagesgeschäft
Stv. Leiter Kommunikation
+41 58 462 54 93
rene.lenzin@bk.admin.ch



Herausgeber

Bundeskanzlei
http://www.bk.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 08.09.2017

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.bk.admin.ch/content/bk/de/home/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-74307.html