Cloud

Cloud services are an important component in building the infrastructures required for the digital transformation of the Federal Administration. Cloud services offer the potential for faster and more agile project implementation, with the aim of providing efficient administration services for citizens, businesses, education, the scientific community and the authorities. Cloud services are IT services from a freely accessible provider that makes these services available online for everyone (e.g. Microsoft, Google, Dropbox, etc.). Typically, the services provide rapidly customisable storage and computing power, application software as a service or access to new technologies on demand.

Growing need for public cloud services

Public cloud services are already used by individual administrative units to generate and offer their public services efficiently (e.g. swisstopo's map services). The use of public cloud services meets a growing need on the part of the departments and the Federal Chancellery, as revealed in a survey conducted in autumn 2019 by the Federal IT Steering Unit (FITSU). Moreover, an increasing number of IT services are now offered exclusively as cloud services (e.g. Microsoft 365, SAP HR).

Public clouds are thus an important component when setting up the platforms and infrastructures for the digital transformation of the Federal Administration.

In addition to the services of the public clouds, services will continue to be obtained from the Federal Administration's Swiss data centres, including federally owned private clouds. These two options should allow the various needs of the departments to be met using the latest technology.

Federal Administration's cloud strategy 

In order to ensure the orderly and safe use of cloud services, basic principles have to be established. To avoid the departments/the Federal Chancellery and the offices each devising their own set of principles, the FITSU, in close cooperation with the departments and the Federal Chancellery, has drawn up a common cloud strategy.

Federal Administration's cloud strategy  (in german and french)

As a first step towards implementing the cloud strategy, a WTO public tender procedure (WTO-20007 ‘Public Cloud Bund’) sought providers of public cloud services that offer high-quality, cost-effective and scalable infrastructure and platform services, as well as a broad range of new technologies and services.
With this WTO procurement, which is limited to five years, it will be possible for the units of the federal administration to use the services of public clouds as and when needed. However, this does not mean that units of the federal administration will use the public cloud services or determine how they might do it. Whether and to what extent this happens depends on the project concerned. If services are used, a specific risk assessment must always be carried out. Applications and data with a high protection requirement will continue to be operated or processed on federally operated infrastructures and platforms (including federally owned private clouds) in the Federal Administration’s own data centres.

Swiss Cloud

The Swiss Cloud issue must be distinguished from the of ‘Public Clouds Bund’ procurement project (WTO-20007). While Public Clouds Bund procurement benefits both the central and the decentralised Federal Administration, Swiss Cloud was about examining the need, the design, the necessity and the feasibility of a Swiss state cloud solution. This was done in collaboration with experts from business, academia and public administrations at all three levels of government.
 (ad es. In December 2020, the Federal Council took note of the report on the needs assessment. The report was published (Report). It indicates that there is no need for a ‘Swiss Cloud’ in the form of an independent technical infrastructure subject to public law and as a success factor for Switzerland as a business location. In the first half of 2021, the option of a certification system for cloud services was examined. No clear state regulatory need for a national certification system was identified. In particular, a wide range of standards and certification systems (such as CSA, STAR, FedRAMP, ECSA, TCDP, C5:2020) already exist for the key aspects of data protection and information security.

Work is continuing to explore inclusion in European initiatives (e.g. secure and trustworthy data infrastructure for Europe, GAIA-X). The DTI is still in contact with experts from industry and academia in order to monitor developments in this dynamic technological environment.

https://www.bk.admin.ch/content/bk/en/home/digitale-transformation-ikt-lenkung/bundesarchitektur/cloud.html

Cloud

Si elle veut réussir sa transformation numérique, l’administration fédérale doit mettre en place des services en nuage. De tels services permettent une mise en œuvre plus rapide et agile des projets innovants de l’administration, qui peut de cette manière proposer des services efficaces aux citoyens, aux entreprises, au domaine de la formation et de la recherche et aux autorités. Il s’agit de services informatiques mis librement à la disposition de tous sur Internet par les fournisseurs (par ex. Microsoft, Google, Dropbox). Ceux-ci proposent en général sur commande des applications, des espaces de stockage ou une puissance de calcul rapidement personnalisables, ou encore des services d’accès à de nouvelles technologies.

Besoin croissant de services en nuage public

Certaines unités administratives ont déjà recours à l’informatique en nuage public pour produire et offrir leurs services administratifs de manière économique (par ex. Swisstopo pour ses services cartographiques). Comme l’a montré une enquête menée en automne 2019 par l’Unité de pilotage informatique de la Confédération (UPIC), l’utilisation de services en nuage public répond à un besoin croissant des départements et de la Chancellerie fédérale (ChF). En outre, de plus en plus de services informatiques sont à présent proposés exclusivement en nuage (par ex. Microsoft 365, SAP HR).
.L’informatique en nuage public constitue par conséquent un élément important pour le développement des plateformes et des infrastructures nécessaires à la transformation numérique de l’administration fédérale.
En plus des nuages publics, des services hébergés dans des centres de calcul suisses appartenant à l’administration fédérale sont aussi proposés. Ils proviennent notamment de nuages privés appartenant à la Confédération. Ces deux possibilités visent à répondre prospectivement aux multiples besoins des départements.

Stratégie d’informatique en nuage de l’administration fédérale

L’élaboration de principes de base est nécessaire à une utilisation cohérente et sûre des services en nuage. Pour éviter que la ChF, les départements et les offices établissent chacun leurs propres principes, l’UPIC a élaboré, en étroite collaboration avec la ChF et les départements, une stratégie commune concernant l’informatique en nuage.

Stratégie d’informatique en nuage 

La première étape vers la mise en œuvre de cette stratégie a été de lancer un appel d’offres public (OMC-20007) pour trouver des fournisseurs de services en nuage public offrant des services d’infrastructure et de plateforme de qualité, rentables et évolutifs, et disposant d’un large éventail de nouvelles technologies et de nouveaux services.

Grâce à ce marché OMC limité à cinq ans, les unités de l’administration fédérale auront la possibilité de se procurer rapidement des services issus de nuages publics. Toutefois, la question de savoir si elles utiliseront effectivement cette possibilité et sous quelle forme reste ouverte. Ces éléments dépendront des projets engagés. Pour recourir à ce type de service, une évaluation spécifique des risques est impérative. Les applications et les données nécessitant un niveau de protection élevé continueront d’être gérées au moyen d’infrastructure et de plateforme exploitées par la Confédération (notamment de nuages privés appartenant à la Confédération) dans les centres de calcul de l’administration fédérale.

Swiss Cloud

Il ne faut pas confondre la question du nuage informatique suisse « Swiss Cloud » et le marché public « Public Clouds Confédération » (OMC-20007). Tandis que « Public Clouds Confédération » est une acquisition au profit de l’administration fédérale centralisée et décentralisée, « Swiss Cloud » avait pour objectif d’évaluer les besoins, la conception, la nécessité et la faisabilité d’une solution étatique d’informatique en nuage. Des experts de l’économie, de la recherche et des administrations des trois niveaux de l’État y ont participé.

Le Conseil fédéral a pris acte du rapport d’évaluation des besoins publié en décembre 2020. Il en ressort que la nécessité d’un « Swiss Cloud » sous forme d’une infrastructure technique indépendante de droit public et comme facteur de succès pour la place économique suisse n’est pas démontrée. Au premier semestre 2021, un examen supplémentaire a été mené pour déterminer s’il était nécessaire de créer un système de certification pour les services en nuage. Cet examen n’a pas mis en évidence un besoin concret de réglementation étatique. Il existe déjà un large éventail de normes et de systèmes de certification pour les aspects centraux que sont la protection des données et la sécurité de l’information (par ex. CSA, STAR, FedRAMP, ECSA, TCDP, C5:2020).

À présent, les travaux se poursuivent pour voir s’il est possible de rejoindre les initiatives européennes (par ex. le projet de développement d’une infrastructure de données sécurisée et fiable GAIA-X). Le secteur TNI entretient toujours des contacts avec des experts de l’économie et de la recherche pour accompagner les évolutions de ce domaine technologique dynamique.

https://www.bk.admin.ch/content/bk/fr/home/digitale-transformation-ikt-lenkung/bundesarchitektur/cloud.html