Project organisation

Parliament has given the Federal Council the task of gradually introducing e-voting. The Federal Council has in turn delegated the task to the Federal Chancellery, where the project is being carried out by the Political Rights Section. At the Federal Chancellery, the project team 'Vote électronique' is responsible for the operational and technical management of the project. The Federal Chancellery is responsible for the authorisation procedure in relation to federal popular votes and elections and for coordinating the cantonal projects.


Project organisation bodies

The Steering Committee 'Vote électronique' (SC VE) consolidates the strategic proposals for the project made by the Federal Chancellery before they are presented to the Federal Council and Parliament. The SC VE com-prises eleven members and is chaired by the Federal Chancellor. The representatives of the Confederation are:

  • The Federal Chancellor
  • The Director of the Federal Office of Justice
  • The Federal Cybersecurity Delegate
  • The State Secretary for Education, Research and Innovation
  • The Head of the Political Rights Section at the Federal Chancellery

The cantons have six seats in the SC VE. The members of the Swiss Conference of Cantonal Chancellors determine the representation of the cantons in the SC VE.

The Project Committee 'Vote électronique' (PC VE) monitors the implementation of the catalogue of measures. The PC VE comprises the Federal Chancellery’s project team, cantonal representatives and Swiss Post as a system provider. All Cantons that have already introduced e-voting or are planning to do so can join the PC VE.