Training and Certification

The training materials and certification exams are based on the contents of the HERMES online tool and the Reference Manual. There are two levels of certification: Foundation and Advanced. The certification process is handled by TÜV SÜD.

Training for federal employees

Courses are available from the Federal Office of Personnel FOPER, Training Centre of the Federal Administration AZB.

Training for external users

Numerous partners offer HERMES courses outside the Federal Administration. For example:

Training Documentation (in German)




Certification is also possible without taking a course in advance. The certification consists of two separate stages:

  • Foundation for project staff and 
  • Advanced for project management

Once achieved, the Foundation certificate is valid indefinitely. The Advanced certificate is valid for five years. Evidence for Advanced recertification must be submitted to TÜV SÜD.

The TÜV SÜD Examination Institute is responsible for all Advanced certification and recertification.

TÜV SÜD Examination Institute

The TÜV SÜD Examination Institute provides detailed information on certification and recertification on its website.

Further Information



Digital Transformation and ICT Steering DTI Sector

Monbijoustrasse 91
CH-3003 Bern

+41 58 463 46 64

Print contact