Home Content Area

Home Navigator

breadcrumb navigation

End Navigator

Key dates

The federal government and the cantons have been working together in the field of electronic voting since 2000. The principle being applied is ‘security before speed’. At present six cantons have an initial licence from the Federal Council to run e-voting pilot schemes for votes at federal level. The table below lists some of the milestones to date.

2000Launch of Vote électronique project
2004Geneva: first pilots in federal votes
2005Neuchâtel: first pilots in federal votes 
2005Zurich: first pilots in federal votes
2008Geneva, Neuchâtel, Zurich: parallel pilots
2008Neuchâtel: Swiss living abroad use e-voting for the first time
2009-2011Accommodation agreement between Geneva and the cantons of Basel-Stadt, Lucerne and Bern for Swiss living abroad
2009E-voting consortium created comprising the cantons of Aargau, Fribourg, Graubünden, Schaffhausen, St. Gallen, Solothurn and Thurgau
2010First pilots in 12 cantons
2011First pilots in National Council elections in the cantons of Basel-Stadt, Aargau, Graubünden and St.Gallen. These pilots concentrate on Swiss living abroad

50% of Swiss living abroad can use e-voting in federal votes

2013Third Federal Council report on Vote électronique
2014New legal basis 
2015Five cantons use e-voting in National Council elections
2015Dissolution of Vote électronique consortium
2016Fribourg: first use of Swiss Post system

End Content Area