Home Content Area

Home Navigator

breadcrumb navigation

End Navigator



Federal Data Protection and Information Commissioner (FDPIC)

The Federal Data Protection and Information Commissioner (FDPIC) has two areas of responsibility: the Federal Act on Data Protection (DPA) and the Federal Act on Freedom of Information in the Administration (Freedom of Information Act, FoIA).

Data protection

As Federal Data Protection Commissioner, the FDPIC has the task of ensuring the protection of personal privacy. His surveillance mandate includes, to a greater or lesser degree, data processing activities by federal bodies and by private individuals and organisations. The Commissioner can conduct investigations and in the event of a violation of data protection regulations can recommend that the data processing methods be changed or discontinued. Finally, the Commissioner's office advises and informs private individuals and federal and cantonal agencies on questions concerning data protection.

Freedom of information

The principle of freedom of information enables people, regardless of their nationality or place of residence, to have access to official documents produced by the Federal Administration and the Parliamentary Services. As the Federal Information Commissioner, the FDPIC advises members of the public on gaining access to information and public authorities on the procedures under the Freedom of Information Act. If an authority and a person requesting information are unable to agree on access, the Federal Information Commissioner may be requested to conciliate. If this does not result in agreement, the Federal Information Commissioner issues a recommendation. If the parties are not satisfied with the recommendation, the authority concerned issues a ruling subject to appeal.


End Content Area

Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

le fil d’Ariane (breadcrumb trail)

Fin navigateur



Préposé fédéral à la protection des données et à la transparence PFPDT

Le Préposé fédéral à la protection des données et à la transparence (préposé) exerce ses compétences dans deux domaines: celui de la loi fédérale sur la protection des données (LPD) et celui de la loi fédérale sur le principe de la transparence dans l'administration (loi sur la transparence, LTrans).

Protection des données 

Le préposé défend la protection de la sphère privée en sa qualité de préposé fédéral à la protection des données. La surveillance qu'il exerce porte - à des degrés divers - sur les données traitées par les organes fédéraux, les particuliers et les organisations. Le préposé peut procéder à des vérifications et, en cas de violation des dispositions légales, recommander que certaines données soient traitées différemment ou ne le soient plus du tout. Enfin, il conseille et renseigne les particuliers, les organes fédéraux et les cantons dans le domaine de la protection des données.

Principe de la transparence

Le principe de la transparence donne droit à toute personne de consulter des documents officiels de l'administration fédérale et des Services du Parlement, indépendamment de sa nationalité ou de son domicile. En sa qualité de préposé fédéral à la transparence, le préposé conseille les particuliers sur les modalités de la consultation et les autorités sur la mise en oeuvre de la loi sur la transparence. Si les autorités et le demandeur ne parviennent pas à s'entendre, une demande de médiation peut être déposée auprès du préposé. Si la médiation n'aboutit pas, le préposé établit une recommandation. Enfin, si les parties ne sont pas d'accord avec celle-ci, l'autorité compétente rend une décision sujette à recours.


Fin secteur de contenu