Protection against cyber risks

To better protect Switzerland against cyber risks, the Federal Council in 2018 adopted the National Strategy for the protection of Switzerland against cyber risks (NCS) 2018–2022. In the process of implementing that strategy, the National Centre for Cyber Security (NCSC) was created. The NCSC works closely with the Digital Transformation and ICT Steering Sector (DTI) at the Federal Chancellery.

National strategy for the protection of Switzerland against cyber risks

The strategy builds on the work of the first NCS (2012–2017), develops it and adds additional measures to reflect the current threat situation. To flesh out the strategy, the Federal Council adopted a plan to implement NCS 2018–2022 in May 2019.

Implementing the strategy

The implementation plan was drafted in conjunction with all relevant federal offices, the cantons, the private sector and higher education institutions. It sets out who is responsible for implementing what measures and by when, and what objectives should be achieved.

To improve interdepartmental cooperation and to strengthen its leadership role, the Federal Council established a committee on cyber affairs consisting of the heads of the FDF, DDPS and the FDJP. The committee examines strategic and cross-departmental operational matters relating to threats presented by cyber risks, and discusses the state of progress and the development of the NCS.

National Centre for Cyber Security (NCSC) 

In addition, the Federal Council took the decision to set up a National Centre for Cyber Security (NCSC) headed by a Federal Cyber Security Delegate. This new centre is located at the FDF and is responsible for coordinating implementation efforts across the Federal Administration. As the federal government’s centre of expertise for cyber security, the NCSC is also the first point of contact for business, administration, education institutions and the public on cyber-related matters.

Florian Schütz took up the post of Federal Cyber Security Delegate in August 2019. He is the federal government’s main point of contact in the field of cyber security and heads the interdepartmental bodies tasked with improving efforts to coordinate work in the field of cyber risks. He also has the task of issuing rules on IT security for the Federal Administration.

Cooperation between NCSC and DTI

The NCSC and the DTI Sector work together closely on all aspects of cyber security concerning the Confederation. The NCSC also sits on the Council for Digital Transformation and ICT Steering (Digital Transformation Council). This interdepartmental body advises the DTI Delegate and helps to standardise business processes, data models, and ICTs and services in the Federal Administration.

Further Information

https://www.bk.admin.ch/content/bk/en/home/digitale-transformation-ikt-lenkung/cybersicherheit.html

Cybersécurité

Afin de mieux protéger la Suisse contre les cyberrisques, le Conseil fédéral a adopté en 2018 la Stratégie nationale de protection de la Suisse contre les cyberrisques 2018-2022. Institué dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de cette stratégie, le Centre national pour la cybersécurité collabore étroitement avec le secteur Transformation numérique et gouvernance de l’informatique (TNI), qui fait partie de la Chancellerie fédérale.

Stratégie nationale de protection de la Suisse contre les cyberrisques (SNPC)

Cette stratégie, qui repose sur les travaux inhérents à la première stratégie nationale (2012–2017), a été étendue et complétée par de nouvelles mesures pour qu’elle réponde aux menaces actuelles. Pour concrétiser cette stratégie, le Conseil fédéral a adopté en mai 2019 le plan de mise en œuvre de la SNPC 2018–2022.

Mise en œuvre de la stratégie

Le plan de mise en œuvre a été élaboré de concert avec tous les offices fédéraux concernés, les cantons, les milieux économiques et les hautes écoles. Il indique non seulement qui doit mettre en œuvre les mesures et dans quels délais, mais aussi quels objectifs doivent être atteints.

Afin d’améliorer la collaboration entre les départements et de renforcer son rôle de conduite, le Conseil fédéral a créé une Délégation pour la cybersécurité, composée des chefs du DFF, du DDPS et du DFJP. La délégation étudie les aspects stratégiques et les questions opérationnelles supradépartementales en rapport avec la menace constituée par les cyberrisques et discute de l’avancement de la mise en œuvre et du développement de la SNPC.

Centre national pour la cybersécurité (NCSC)

Le Conseil fédéral a en outre décidé d’instituer un Centre national pour la cybersécurité (NCSC), placé sous la direction d’un délégué de la Confédération à la cybersécurité. Ce nouveau centre, qui fait partie du DFF, est chargé de la coordination des travaux de mise en œuvre à l’échelle fédérale. Véritable centre de compétences de la Confédération pour la cybersécurité, le NCSC est le premier interlocuteur des milieux économiques, de l’administration, des établissements de formation et de la population pour toutes les questions liées à la cybersécurité.

Florian Schütz a été nommé délégué de la Confédération à la cybersécurité au milieu de l’année 2019. Interlocuteur-clé au niveau fédéral pour toutes les questions de cybersécurité, il dirige les organes interdépartementaux chargés d’améliorer la coordination des activités dans le domaine des cyberrisques et édicte les règles régissant la sécurité informatique de l’administration fédérale.

Collaboration entre le NCSC et le secteur TNI

Le NCSC et le secteur TNI collaborent étroitement dans toutes les questions inhérentes à la cybersécurité de la Confédération. Le NCSC siège en outre dans le Conseil de la transformation numérique et de la gouvernance informatique de la Confédération (Conseil TNI). Cet organe interdépartemental conseille le délégué à la TNI et contribue à la standardisation des processus d’affaires, des modèles de données ainsi que des technologies et des prestations informatiques dans l’administration fédérale.

Informations complémentaires

https://www.bk.admin.ch/content/bk/fr/home/digitale-transformation-ikt-lenkung/cybersicherheit.html