Protection against cyber risks

To better protect Switzerland against cyber risks, the Federal Council in 2018 adopted the National Strategy for the protection of Switzerland against cyber risks (NCS) 2018–2022. In the process of implementing that strategy, the National Centre for Cyber Security (NCSC) was created. The NCSC works closely with the Digital Transformation and ICT Steering Sector (DTI) at the Federal Chancellery.

National strategy for the protection of Switzerland against cyber risks

The strategy builds on the work of the first NCS (2012–2017), develops it and adds additional measures to reflect the current threat situation. To flesh out the strategy, the Federal Council adopted a plan to implement NCS 2018–2022 in May 2019.

Implementing the strategy

The implementation plan was drafted in conjunction with all relevant federal offices, the cantons, the private sector and higher education institutions. It sets out who is responsible for implementing what measures and by when, and what objectives should be achieved.

To improve interdepartmental cooperation and to strengthen its leadership role, the Federal Council established a committee on cyber affairs consisting of the heads of the FDF, DDPS and the FDJP. The committee examines strategic and cross-departmental operational matters relating to threats presented by cyber risks, and discusses the state of progress and the development of the NCS.

National Centre for Cyber Security (NCSC) 

In addition, the Federal Council took the decision to set up a National Centre for Cyber Security (NCSC) headed by a Federal Cyber Security Delegate. This new centre is located at the FDF and is responsible for coordinating implementation efforts across the Federal Administration. As the federal government’s centre of expertise for cyber security, the NCSC is also the first point of contact for business, administration, education institutions and the public on cyber-related matters.

Florian Schütz took up the post of Federal Cyber Security Delegate in August 2019. He is the federal government’s main point of contact in the field of cyber security and heads the interdepartmental bodies tasked with improving efforts to coordinate work in the field of cyber risks. He also has the task of issuing rules on IT security for the Federal Administration.

Cooperation between NCSC and DTI

The NCSC and the DTI Sector work together closely on all aspects of cyber security concerning the Confederation. The NCSC also sits on the Council for Digital Transformation and ICT Steering (Digital Transformation Council). This interdepartmental body advises the DTI Delegate and helps to standardise business processes, data models, and ICTs and services in the Federal Administration.

Further Information

https://www.bk.admin.ch/content/bk/en/home/digitale-transformation-ikt-lenkung/cybersicherheit.html

Cybersicherheit

Um die Schweiz vor Cyberrisiken besser zu schützen, hat der Bundesrat 2018 die «Nationale Strategie zum Schutz der Schweiz vor Cyberrisiken (NCS) 2018–2022»» verabschiedet. Im Zuge der Umsetzung ist das Nationale Zentrum für Cybersicherheit (NCSC) entstanden, das eng mit dem Bereich Digitale Transformation und IKT-Lenkung (DTI) der Bundeskanzlei zusammenarbeitet.

Nationale Strategie zum Schutz der Schweiz vor Cyberrisiken  

Die Strategie baut auf den Arbeiten der ersten NCS (2012–2017) auf, hat diese ausgeweitet und mit neuen Massnahmen ergänzt, so dass sie der heutigen Bedrohungslage entspricht. Zur Konkretisierung der Strategie hat der Bundesrat im Mai 2019 den Umsetzungsplan zur NCS 2018–2022 verabschiedet.

Umsetzung der Strategie

Der Umsetzungsplan wurde zusammen mit allen beteiligten Bundesämtern, den Kantonen, der Wirtschaft und den Hochschulen erarbeitet. Er legt fest, wer bis wann welche Massnahmen umsetzen soll und welche Leistungsziele dabei erreicht werden sollen.

Für die die Verbesserung der interdepartementalen Zusammenarbeit und die Stärkung seiner Führungsrolle hat der Bundesrat einen Cyberausschuss aus den Vorstehenden des EFD, des VBS und des EJPD etabliert. Der Ausschuss diskutiert über strategische und departementsübergreifende operationelle Fragen mit Bezug auf die Bedrohung durch Cyberrisiken und berät über den Stand der Umsetzung und die inhaltliche Weiterentwicklung der NCS.

Nationales Zentrum für Cybersicherheit (NCSC) 

Weiter hat der Bundesrat entschieden, ein Nationales Zentrum für Cybersicherheit (NCSC) unter der Leitung einer/eines Delegierten des Bundes für Cybersicherheit zu schaffen. Dieses neu geschaffene Zentrum ist im EFD angesiedelt und ist verantwortlich für die Koordination der bundesweiten Umsetzungsarbeiten. Als Kompetenzzentrum des Bundes für Cybersicherheit ist das NCSC zudem erste Anlaufstelle für die Wirtschaft, Verwaltung, Bildungseinrichtungen und die Bevölkerung bei Cyberfragen.

Zum Delegierten des Bundes für Cybersicherheit wurde Mitte 2019 Florian Schütz ernannt. Der Delegierte ist die zentrale Ansprechperson des Bundes im Bereich Cybersicherheit. Er leitet die interdepartementalen Gremien zur Verbesserung der Koordination der Arbeiten im Bereich Cyberrisiken. und erlässt unter anderem auch Vorgaben zur Informatiksicherheit der Bundesverwaltung.

Zusammenarbeit NCSC-DTI

Das NCSC und der Bereich DTI arbeiten in sämtlichen Fragen zur Cybersicherheit des Bundes eng zusammen. Das NCSC nimmt zudem Einsitz im Rat für digitale Transformation und IKT-Lenkung des Bundes (Digitalisierungsrat). Dieses interdepartementale Gremium berät den Delegierten DTI und trägt zur Standardisierung von Geschäftsprozessen, Datenmodellen sowie IT-Technologien und -Dienstleistungen in der Bundesverwaltung bei.

Weiterführende Informationen

https://www.bk.admin.ch/content/bk/de/home/digitale-transformation-ikt-lenkung/cybersicherheit.html